European Healthcare Design Awards 2019: shortlist announced

The official shortlist for the European Healthcare Design Awards 2019 has been announced, following a hard-fought competition and intensive judging process.


The awards, which celebrate and recognise professional excellence in the design of healthcare environments both in Europe and around the world, caught the interest of architects, healthcare leaders, academic researchers and innovative solutions providers from all over the globe. The extremely high standard of entries received meant the judges had an unenviable task in whittling them down to a final shortlist. 

undefined - undefined


Comprising organisations and project teams in the running for ten awards across primary, community, secondary and tertiary levels of international healthcare provision and delivery, the shortlist is as follows:


Healthcare Design (Over 25,000 sqm)

  • Clinical Services Building, Blacktown Hospital
    Commissioned by NSW Health Infrastructure 
    Designed by Jacobs Architects
  • David H. Koch Center
    Commissioned by NewYork-Presbyterian
    Designed by Ballinger, HOK, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
  • Defence and National Rehabilitation Centre
    Commissioned by Black Stork Charity / BS Stanford
    Designed by Arup and Steffian Bradley Architects
  • Greater Accra General Hospital de Ridge
    Commissioned by Bouygues Bâtiment International
    Designed by Perkins+Will


Lead judge: Kate Copeland, Australian Health Design Council, Australia
Panel judges: Tricia Down, Southmead Hospital, UK; Ganesh Suntharalingam, Intensive Care Society, UK


Healthcare Design (Under 25,000 sqm)

  • The Christie Proton Beam Therapy Centre
    Commissioned by The Christie NHS Foundation Trust
    Designed by HKS Architects
  • Cripps Health Centre
    Commissioned by University of Nottingham
    Designed by CPMG Architects
  • Haraldsplass Hospital – new ward building
    Commissioned by Haraldsplass Diakonale Stiftelse
    Designed by C.F. Møller Architects
  • Punmu and Parnngurr Clinics
    Commissioned by Puntukurnu Aboriginal Medical Service
    Designed by Kaunitz Yeung Architecture


Lead judge: Liesbeth Van Heel, senior policy advisor, Erasmus University Medical Centre, Netherlands
Panel judges: Coen van den Wijngaart, Art & Build, Belgium; Hank Adams, HDR, USA


Mental Health Design

  • Mental Health Hospital in Skejby
    Commissioned by Central Denmark Region
    Designed by Arkitema Architects
  • Orygen and OYH Parkville
    Commissioned by Orygen, The National Centre of Excellence in Youth Mental Health
    Designed by Billard Leece Partnership
  • Wooden Forest
    Commissioned by Stichting Ipse de Bruggen
    Designed by AM_A Andrea Möhn Architects


Lead judge: Jonathan Erskine, European Health Property Network, UK
Panel judges: Alice Liang, Montgomery Sisam, Canada; Mungo Smith, MAAP, Australia


Interior Design and Arts

  • Erasmus MC
    Commissioned by Erasmus MC
    Designed by EGM architects
  • The New Children’s Hospital
    Commissioned by New Children’s Hospital Foundation / Haahtela Project Management
    Designed by SARC Architects in collaborations with Architect Group Reino Koivula
  • St Clair Gardens – Recovery Mental Health Centre for Mind
    Commissioned by Coventry & Warwickshire Mind
    Designed by IDP


Lead judge: Alexandra Coulter, Arts & Health South West, UK
Panel judges: Vivienne Reiss, arts consultant, UK; Pam Bate, Hopkins Architects, UK


Future Healthcare Design

  • Munini District Hospital
    Commissioned by Republic of Rwanda Ministry of Health
    Designed by MASS Design Group
  • New North Zealand Hospital
    Commissioned by New North Zealand Hospital
    Designed by HdeM VLa partnership Nyt Hospital Nordsjælland I/S
  • Nuuk Psychiatric Clinic
    Commissioned by Agency for Health and Prevention
    Designed by White Arkitekter


Lead judge: Cliff Harvey, Union of International Architects Public Health Group, Canada
Panel judges: Paul Bell, Ryder Architecture, UK; Hieronimus Nickl, Nickl & Partner, Germany


Design for Adaptation and Transformation

  • Carlanderska Hospital
    Commissioned by Stiftelsen Carlanderska Hospital
    Designed by White arkitekter
  • Hamad Medical Corporation Medical Education and Simulation Center
    Commissioned by Hamad Medical Corporation
    Designed by Perkins+Will


Lead judge: Visiting Professor Jim Chapman, Manchester School of Architecture, UK
Panel judges: Chris Shaw, Medical Architecture, UK; Jane McElroy, NBBJ, UK


Design Innovation for Quality Improvement

  • David H. Koch Center
    Commissioned by NewYork-Presbyterian
    Designed by Ballinger, HOK, Pei Cobb Freed & Partners
  • Vienna North Hospital
    Commissioned by Vienna Hospital Association
    Designed by Albert Wimmer ZT GmbH


Lead judge: Jonathan West, Helen Hamlyn Centre for Design, Royal College of Art, UK
Panel judges: Christine Chadwick, GE Healthcare, Canada; Danny Gibson, MJ Medical, UK


Design for Health and Wellness

  • Defence and National Rehabilitation Centre
    Commissioned by Black Stork Charity / BS Stanford
    Designed by Arup and Steffian Bradley Architects
  • Punmu and Parnngurr Clinics
    Commissioned by Puntukurnu Aboriginal Medical Service
    Designed by Kaunitz Yeung Architecture 
  • Sachibondu Hospital
    Commissioned by Sachibondu Christian Mission
    Designed by Orkidstudio with Structure Mode and HOK
  • Vienna North Hospital
    Commissioned by Vienna Hospital Association
    Designed by Albert Wimmer ZT GmbH


Lead judge: David Powell, Alder Hey Children’s Hospital, UK
Panel judges: Helina Kotilainen, architect, Finland; Jonathan Wilson, GB Partnerships, UK


Health and Life Sciences Design

  • Alder Hey Children’s Hospital: Institute in the Park
    Commissioned by Alder Hey Children’s NHS Foundation Trust
    Designed by Hopkins Architects
  • The University of South Australia Cancer Research Institute
    Commissioned by UniSA
    Designed by BVN in association with SPA


Lead judge: Liz Paslawsky, consultant, SALUS Global Knowledge Exchange, UK
Panel judges: Karin Imoberdorf, Lead Consultants, Switzerland; Tye Farrow, Farrow Partnership Architects, Canada


Design Research

Shortlisted entries for the Design Research Award are announced closer to the congress. 

Lead judge: Dr Göran Lindahl PhD, Chalmers University, Sweden


The awards, which are organised by Architects for Health and SALUS Global Knowledge Exchange, will be presented at an illustrious ceremony during the final session of the European Healthcare Design 2019 Congress & Exhibition on 18 June. Supported by lead sponsor Integrated Health Projects (IHP), the awards make a significant contribution towards the development of knowledge and standards in the design of healthcare environments around the world.


The awards evaluation committee features international researchers, practitioners and policy advisors, who bring specialist multidisciplinary expertise to the specific categories they have been invited to judge.


The shortlist and winner of each award are determined by a category chair, supported by two other judges with proven expertise in their field. This robust evaluation methodology ensures a balanced and transparent decision-making process.